IPHS endeavours to foster the study of planning history worldwide. It seeks to advance scholarship in the fields of urbanism, history, planning and the environment, focusing particularly on cities from the late nineteenth century.

IPHS offers prizes and awards normally biennially; the Society’s last awards were made in 2020. An announcement about the opening of the next round of awards will be made in 2021.

Awards of the IPHS: 2020 Recipients

Awards of the IPHS: a history

IPHS Book Prizes

IPHS offers two book prizes in the following categories:

1. The most innovative book in planning history written in English and based on original new research. Books must have been published in the two calendar years before the conference and may be written individually or joint-authored.

2. The best book (in English) published in the two calendar years before the conference and related to planning history of the country where the IPHS conference is held.


Planning Perspectives Prize

Awarded to the best planning history article published in the journal Planning Perspectives in the two years before the IPHS conference. The prize is sponsored by Taylor & Francis, the journal’s publisher.

Best Postgraduate Planning History Paper

IPHS awards the best Postgraduate Planning History Paper presented at an IPHS conference. Papers must be sole authored by the postgraduate student and entrants must register and attend the conference. Students enrolled in a master’s by coursework or research or in a doctorate are eligible for the award.


Sir Peter Hall Award for Lifetime Achievement in Planning History

The Peter Hall Award is the most prestigious prize awarded by the IPHS. It recognizes sustained excellence for a body of published work that has made an outstanding contribution to international scholarship and conveyed the relevance of planning history to contemporary planning challenges.

Anthony Sutcliffe Dissertation Award

IPHS has created an award in honour of Anthony Sutcliffe (founding member of IPHS and Planning Perspectives). The award recognizes the best dissertation in the field of planning history written in English and completed during the two years preceding the conference. There is no restriction on topic, but submissions that most directly and innovatively address the internationalism of the modern planning movement in line with much of Sutcliffe’s work are especially welcome.


East Asia Planning History Prize

The East Asia Planning History Prize aims to encourage young scholars of East Asia to engage in planning history and to publish their work in English. The Prize is awarded for outstanding research in the planning history of East Asia (China, Hong Kong, Japan, the two Koreas, Macau, Mongolia and Taiwan) published in English in the form of a refereed article in an academic journal, in the two calendar years before an IPHS conference, by a native, citizen, and resident of a nation in East Asia under 45 years old as of the deadline date.

Koos Bosma Prize in Planning History Innovation

The Koos Bosma Prize in Planning History Innovation recognizes the authors of books (monographs or edited volumes), major articles or other academic contributions (including innovation in the digital field) developed by single authors or groups, that question accepted views and break away from the standard histories, expanding and modifying planning history enhancing its critical potential. The work may be published or presented in English, French, German, Dutch, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Russian, Chinese, or Japanese.